From the News Edge: Modernettes host African American breakfast ---- Man sentenced to eight years ---- Hopkinsville library to honor famous native son ---- Suspect in custody following standoff in Trigg County ---- For these stories and more, be sure to visit our News Pages.

WKDZ National Awards

WKDZ-FM is the 2013
winner of the National Association of Broadcasters Marconi Small Market Station of the Year award.
The prestigious honor was presented to WKDZ and WHVO President, D.J. Everett and Group General Manager, Beth Mann, Thursday, September 19th, 2013, at the annual NAB Radio Awards Dinner and Show in Orlando, Florida.  Mann says she was glad to be able to accept the award and give special recognition to Everett.

Mann says its a combination of a great team and a great community that have helped WKDZ become so successful.

According to information from the National Association of Broadcasters, the prestigious awards recognize radio's outstanding personalities and stations.
WKDZ-FM was recognized along with other stations such as Legendary Station Chicago's WBBM-AM, Major Market Station of the Year WBEB-FM in Philadelphia, Large Market Station of the Year KSTP-FM in St. Paul, MN, and Medium Market Station of the Year KRMG-FM in Tulsa, OK.

Earlier this year WKDZ-FM was recognized for community service with a Crystal Radio Award presented by the National Association of Broadcasters. 

WKDZ-FM won a Marconi and was named Small Market Station of the Year in 2002, and was nominated for the prestigious award in 2007 and 2012.


NAB President Gordon Smith, WKDZ/WHVO General Manager Beth Mann, Radio Board Chairman Don BensonOn April 9th, 2013, WKDZ-FM won the top honor in the broadcast industry, the prestigious Crystal award, from the National Association of Broadcasters, making WKDZ-FM the only small market station in Kentucky to earn the coveted Marconi and Crystal. 
Crystal awards are given to stations with an exemplary history of community service.  Here’s the award-winning statement made in Las Vegas at the NAB Conference regarding some of WKDZ’s accomplishments!

We at 106.5 WKDZ would like to say thank you for allowing us to serve your community.  Thanks to the hours you spend listening and supporting projects which we promote, we feel like we have won this award together.  Thanks again, from the ONLY STATION IN THE STATE OF KENTUCKY to have been honored by the NAB with a Crystal Award for exceptional community service and a Marconi Award for "Small Market Station of the Year".  We're locally owned, 106.5 WKDZ!

  Click here to enjoy the excitement of the NAB Crystal Award Presentation to WKDZ-FM

Former NAB President, David Rehr, with
Ham Broadcasting Co. President, D. J. Everett,
in the lobby of WKDZ/WHVO studios.
The 2002 Marconi is placed between them.

In 2002, WKDZ-FM became the only Kentucky radio station ever to be selected as Small Market Station of the Year by the National Association of Broadcasters as recipient of its coveted Marconi Radio Award, the most prestigious and sought after recognition in American broadcasting.

The criteria used by the Marconi judges include ratings, community awards and recognition, events sponsored by the station, continuing community service broadcasts, and staff involvement in the community.

The Marconi judges cited WKDZ's broadcasts for the Relay for Life, the Rotary Auction, the Community Food Bank, the Trigg County Country Ham Festival, and countless others in making its decision.

The CONGRESSIONAL RECORD said, "WKDZ is a shining example of how a privately owned business can on one hand be a profitable contributor to the local economy and on the other be an active and influential participant in the community."
WKDZ was a Top 5 Finalist for NAB’s Marconi in 2007 and 2012.
Additionally, WKDZ-FM has been a finalist for the NAB’s Crystal Award in 1999 and again in 2010. 

WKDZ-FM won the prestigious National Headliner award in 2009 for Local News Excellence.
WKDZ’s D.J. Everett and Beth Mann won the National Society of the Daughters of American Revolution Lifetime Achievement Award for Public Relations and Media in 2012.  The award was given by The Colonel John Green Chapter, NSDAR.

Filed Under :  
Topics : Entertainment_Culture
Social :
Locations : Kentucky
People : D. J. EverettDavid Rehr