From the News Edge: Mayor-elect Hendricks walks door to door ---- Ruling expected by February in Claude Russell case ---- Ovey-Wiggins appointed to serve as new Commonwealth Attorney ---- Soldiers celebrate holidays in Liberia ---- Conway announces T- Mobile settlement ---- For these stories and more, be sure to visit our News Pages.

Posted: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 5:10PM

Christian County Election Filings

There could be as many as two new faces on the Christian County School Board following the November General Election, with new mayors in Oak Grove, Crofton and Pembroke.

According to the Christian County Clerk’s website, Lindsey Clark of Harton Place is challenging former board chairman Barry Cornelius for the District 3 seat on the Christian County Board of Education.  And local insurance agent Tom Bell will challenge District 5 School Board Member Mary DeBow.

There will be a 5-way race for Oak Grove Mayor.  Bea Burt, James A. McKnight, Bobby Combs, Jason Croom and Randy J. Pierce are running to replace current Mayor Dan Potter, who is not running again.  Meanwhile Tim Johnson, Janet Edwards, Richard L. Baker, Jean Leavell, Robert F. Assmus, Patrick Ebling and Kimberly Brown are running for Oak Grove City Council, with the top six vote getters elected.

Mayor Danny Lacy is unopposed for another term, with Anthony Gale Duhram, Brenda Cranor West, Gregory P. Owen, Wendall R. Alexander, Lewis E. Croft and Reta Fleming all running for the six Crofton City Council seats.

In Pembroke PACS Director Judy Peterson is running unopposed for Mayor.  Meanwhile David C. Rule, current Mayor Paulette Stewart, Jeanette W. Aldridge, Kim Waldrop Roehr and Steve Pyle are running for Pembroke City Commission.

And in Lafayette Wallace Woody Mason has filed to run for Mayor, with Ellin Francis, Elsa K. Bekkala, Norma Banks, Sandra K. Torres and Heather Meacham running for Lafayette City Commission.

The non-partisan races will appear on the November 4th General Election Ballot in their respective precincts, along with a number of contested partisan races.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI